one of my *mny files does not work on my laptop but it does on another RRS feed

• Question

• I have spent the last 3 days looking through these forums to see if I could find a relevant thread without success. Cal very kindly opened a new thread for me, but I have not had any replies, so I wondered whether starting a new one with a different title might achieve better results.

My problem is as follows:

I have been using Microsoft Money for 10 years now. I have 2 separate files, for 2 separate sets of accounts. In the last few days, one of the files has become unusable on my main laptop (OS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1). The other file still works fine and both files work on a different laptop (OS Windows Vista Home Premium SP2). Unfortunately, I need them both to work (like they have always done) on the Windows 7 laptop.

My version of Money is Money Deluxe OEM Edition Version 12.0 (I believe this is 2004).

I have put all 4 files (2 x *.mny and 2 x *mbf) on a USB Stick. I have tried to do a Restore Backup, a Quick, and a Standard File Repair; I have reinstalled Microsoft Money, I have done a System Restore, I have tried to open the file as a different user with administrator privileges - No Luck. The smaller file (I'll call it File B) works fine on Laptop 1 (Windows 7 Home Premium SP1) and on Laptop 2 (Windows Vista Premium SP2), but the larger file (I'll call it File A) only works on Laptop 2. On Laptop 1, icons disappear from the screen, part of the text/screen also disappears showing parts of the previous screen, and/or the screen shows blank blocks, and/or it crashes when you try to enter new information.

Any suggestions?

• Edited by chitidc Thursday, May 3, 2012 2:02 PM
    Thursday, May 3, 2012 2:00 PM

Answers

• I suspect some kind of graphics driver problem on laptop 1. If you have switchable (between integrated or high performance) graphics, try choosing the other setting.