none
Handling Outlook-events in Powershell RRS feed

• Question

• I would like to write a script, that sends an E-Mail via our companys SMTP-Server using CDO.

First I tried to write an HTA-application for that purpose, but it became rather fiddly to make it cormfortable enough so that other people may handle it well (because of proper recipient resolving).

So now I try to use the regular Outlook-Mail mask to prepare the mail first and then catch the send-item event via Powershell to give it's content to a CDO script.

I'm rather new to powershell-scripting so I didn't come very far before running into the first problems... First of all I'm trying to catch the ItemSend-event. But whenever I run the following code and hit the send-button in my E-Mail, powershell simply crashes. What am I missing? I have never worked with events in powershell and all examples I can find are very very specific and sadly don't apply to my problem at all...

$WSH = new-Object -ComObject "WScript.Shell" $Outlook = new-Object -ComObject "Outlook.Application" $Action = { WSH.PopUp("TestEvent") } Register-ObjectEvent -InputObject $Outlook -EventName ItemSend -Action $Action $MailItem = $Outlook.CreateItem(0)

$MailItem.Display()

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Friday, March 15, 2019 5:38 PM Pointless (why not just sent SMTP mail)
    Tuesday, January 15, 2019 10:42 AM

All replies

• You cannot use a popup in an event sent by Outlook.

$Outlook = new-Object -ComObject Outlook.Application
    $Action = {Write-Host 'Mail TestEvent' -fore green}
    Register-ObjectEvent -SourceIdentifier SendMail -InputObject $Outlook -EventName ItemSend -Action $Action

$MailItem = $Outlook.CreateItem(0)
    $MailItem.Display()

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, January 15, 2019 3:25 PM
  • Thanks for your answer, but the script still crashed when I send the E-Mail. :-(

Tuesday, January 15, 2019 3:50 PM