none
Hard Drive Size and Disaster Prevention RRS feed

• Question

• I have been using WHS for a few months and just upgraded to the licensed version. I need to add/reconfigure hard drive space and plan on adding some removable hard drives (we are in a potential forest fire area and I want to be able to pull up my hard drives and leave if necessary).

I have a couple of questions:

1) I understand that the SYS volume and the primary DATA volume are on the primary (boot) hard drive. I also understand that the primary DATA volume is not used unless all the other drives are full. My current primary drive is 80 GB. My sons' computer only has a 20 GB drive that is nearly full. Do you think it would be okay to use their 20 GB drive as my primary drive (and give them my 80 GB drive which would be the goal of this maneuver)? I understand that the SYS volume uses about 10 GB leaving about 10 GB free. I plan to have more than enough storage on my other drives (probably 2 x 1 TB SATA).

2) Am I correct in assuming that in the worst-case scenario I could pull out my two removable data drives and if I did end up losing all my computers to a disaster, I could slip those drives into a newly rebuilt WHS and then restore all my other network computers (or at least their data as I would have to buy new computers)?

Is there a better way to prepare for physical disaster?

Thanks,

Mitch
    Wednesday, March 4, 2009 1:25 AM

Answers

• Makman said:

I have been using WHS for a few months and just upgraded to the licensed version. I need to add/reconfigure hard drive space and plan on adding some removable hard drives (we are in a potential forest fire area and I want to be able to pull up my hard drives and leave if necessary).