Has One Care paralysed my pc? RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running one care on my laptop (Vista OS) for several months with little problem until recently. First up, I wont claim that one care is definitely responsible for my app's failure to launch (including one care itself) because I just don't know but would like some advice.

3 nights ago my laptop was just fine. The next morning I fired the machine up and One Care did not launch. The same happened with iTunes, and then frantically checking, almost everything else on my desktop. In fact I cannot open restore centre or control panel. The windows start but are not populated with any icons and it just hangs.

I suspect that One Care may be the problem because if I don't use task manager (this is still working) to close the hung window, eventually a pop up message appears telling me that one care has stopped working or been turned off even though I have not tried to engage it.

Now here's the rub. Because I used one care to decide what to launch at startup I suspect that if the original failure is one care then it is still stopping other applications from launching.

I have read some other posts on here about one care not starting withe the resulting advice being to check on .net. This advice seems to be for xp users; am I correct or does this apply to vista also?
    Thursday, March 13, 2008 2:54 PM

Answers

All replies

• The problem also affects Vista users, but the solution isn't the same as in XP as you can't uninstall/reinstall .Net 2.0 on Vista.

To repair .Net Framework 2.0 and 3.0 on Vista, see this blog entry:

http://blogs.msdn.com/astebner/archive/2007/03/26/how-to-repair-the-net-framework-2-0-and-3-0-on-windows-vista.aspx

If that doesn't solve the problem, please contact OneCare support for help:

How to reach support (FAQ) - http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsOneCare/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=2421771&SiteID=2

-steve

Thursday, March 13, 2008 5:29 PM
  • Hi Stephen