[Question] Using Sync with Xml as Metadata RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I'm quite new to Sync and I have a request to use Sync for synchronize two XML files. I know that I can use SqlSyncMetadataStorage for storing metadata, but I want to use XML instead of SQL CE.

What should I do?

Thanks,
    -Hieu
    • Moved by Max Wang_1983 Thursday, April 21, 2011 6:05 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Technical Discussion [ReadOnly])
    Monday, October 27, 2008 8:02 AM

Answers

• You should be able to use files to store your metadata information. Please take a look at the MnagedNTFS sample that is present in the SDK and see if helps you give a start.

Wednesday, October 29, 2008 6:58 AM
  • To answer your questions....

"- Data Source for source and dest are different. For example, one is XML, and one is Database. So do I need to write two Knowledge class for each datasource?

- Metadata must not use SQL database for storage. Do I need to have two metadata class?"

You don't need to implement the knowledge, that's something we provide.  You will need to implement a metadata store as a place to store the knowledge and item metadata (update versions for each item).  Depending on how you want to do this, you may only need to write this once and use it in both providers.  You can implement this however you want, since it's being used from within your provider.  You just need to serialize the knowledge into it, and you should be fine.  I would mention though, that since one side is a database, you may be better off putting the metadata in a side table in the database.  This will allow you to keep the metadata alongside the actual data.  Also, if your database has features like change tracking, you may gain some optimized performance during change detection.

"- How do I handle conflict in my sync application for source and dest?"