A Real Fiddler RRS feed

• Question

• I am an engineer and was taught to read the manual only as a last resort. I've played with and completely broken three installations. I've done this by mucking with various things including, but not limited to, programming my own add-ins, promoting WHS to a domain controller, and playing with RAID configurations rather than using the drive extender. Well I've now read the manual and both of the books I bought.

WHS has now worked its way into my network to such an extent that I do not want to break it again - but I still want to play too. The manual basically states that you do anything outside of the console at your own peril. WHS seems to be the most flakey of all the current MS operating systems and this advice cannot be emphasized too much if you want to rely on the services of WHS. So, to save me re-installing too many more times...

• Has anyone documented what can and cannot safely be done with various aspects of the underlying Server 2003 OS?
    • Has anyone tried installing and running WHS in a virtual machine? If so, can two servers (one physical and one virtual) co-exist on the same IP network? The VM scheme will give me a an instance to play with and break, but also have a way to quickly revert to a working system.
    • Has anyone figured a trivial way to debug add-ins with Dev studio? Install Dev Studio on WHS and do it all on one box? Have I missed that part of the manual?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

Wednesday, March 26, 2008 2:39 AM

Answers

• Bill, Microsoft's intent with Windows Home Server is for it to be an easy to use, easy to maintain "appliance" or node on your home network.  The intended interface for the average user is the Windows Home Server console, not the standard administrative tools.  Those tools are still there because they are part of Windows Server 2003, but you need to be careful when using them because, as you have learned, you can severely damage server functionality with them.