hard drive activity causes problems since PP3 RRS feed

• General discussion

• I have been running WHS quite happily for the last 18 months - it's hard to tell if it was the update that caused this, but since the automatic update, my WHS machine locks up & then reboots whenever there is even just a slight amount of hard drive activity. I tried a clean install a week ago & all was fine until yesterday ( I had left auto update ON) now I have the same problem - I can see my WHS machine on my network & the console icon is green. As soon as I even browse a shared folder - it disappears for about ten mins. When I go & actually look at the machine it is usually either locked up or rebooting.

The machine is home-built, based on a compaq workstation, with an IDE drive as the system drive & I have an additional SATA drive connected to a PCI-SATA card. This configuration had been extremely stable until a couple of weeks ago.

Monday, November 8, 2010 1:01 PM

All replies

• It's likely that you have one or more failing components in your server, possibly a hard drive, possibly a controller or other component. It may also be a network issue of some sort; what happens if you try to log in to the server desktop via remote desktop, or the console? Have you checked server event logs?

I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Monday, November 8, 2010 1:36 PM
  • I'll try disconnecting it from the network tonight & looking at the event logs (am at work happily writing code at the moment). If all else fails I'll give it another clean install & switch off auto updates. If it stays up for a month I'll then start adding the updates manually at regular intervals.

It's almost as if the priority of the hard drive interface is too high.

The console & remote desktop gave the same results.

Monday, November 8, 2010 2:24 PM