Error While Retrieving Information From Database RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Everyone,

I am brand new to Visual Studio and SQL Server and am going through a learning process.  I have created a new database on a remote SQL Server.  From a client computer, I can display (Server Explorer - show table data) a data grid of data from the remote server without any problem.  The Visual Studio and SQL Server I am using are both version 2008.

I have run into a problem which I can’t seem to resolve. I hope that somebody can give me some direction as to how to solve this problem.

My Problem:  When I attempt to create a new Data Source by the following steps I receive an Exception Error.

1)      On the Data menu, click Add New Data Source.

2)      In the Data Source Configuration Wizard dialog box, click Database.

3)      On Choose Your Data Connection page, click New Connection.

4)      In the Choose Data Source dialog box, click Microsoft SQL Server.

5)      In the Add Connection dialog box add a connection with the following settings and click OK.

Server Name:  Sparky\Sparky

Connect to a database:  Select from drop down list, ACDREGDB

6)      In the Data Source Configuration Wizard dialog box,

Sparky\Sparky.ACDREGDB.dbo is displayed as the “Connect to” Database. Save

AS ACDREGDBConnection1 is displayed.  Click Next.

7)      I am presented with the Choose Your Database Objects page and the following

error occurs.

An error occured while retrieving the information from the database

The type initializer for

'Microsoft.VisualStudio.DataDesign.SyncDesigner.SyncFacade.SyncTableConfigManager'

threw an exception

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mike

• Moved by Karel ZikmundMicrosoft employee Wednesday, July 8, 2009 5:01 PM Wrong forum, not sure which one is close ... (From:Building Development and Diagnostic Tools for .Net)
    Wednesday, July 8, 2009 3:11 PM

Answers