After using retail Windows 7 Ultimate for many years, it suddenly started complaining it's not valid RRS feed

• General discussion

• Got win7 ultimate pretty much day one, installed and activated without issues.  Ever since I've updated computer numerous times, and probably done full reinstall twice, with no issues.

I've been using current installation for several years, and yesterday it just decided out of blue that it's not genuine after all.

I did have an issue with running out of disk space on C: drive.  Computer was trying to go into hibernate mode for some reason, and filled up remaining space on C drive.  I uninstalled a couple of games to make space, when disk writing continued I figured it might be some malware - and just cut off power.  Rebooted system, and it seemed to start fine.  Writing had stopped, and subsequent investigation was showing it was probably hibernation file filling up the disk.  I set hibernation mode unavailable, which cleared the hiber file, and had no further issues.  Computer was working fine for a long time after that (several hours at least).  I think it threw a hissy fit first when it was trying to run windows update, don't remember for sure.  Either way since then it keeps insisting the license is not genuine.

I've tried re-activating, tried following instructions to rebuild tokens.dat from http://www.thewindowsclub.com/rebuild-tokens-dat-activation-file-windows but nothing seems to help.  I've retyped product key at least 3 times, going through each character carefully to make sure that yes, it's typed exactly right.  Genuine Diagnostic Tool gives code 50, 'Invalid License'.

(this had originally data from genuine check tool, but no need to clutter the post with it anymore)
    • Edited by Nogitsune Sunday, September 4, 2016 4:51 PM
    • Changed type Nogitsune Sunday, September 4, 2016 4:52 PM Problem solved, so no longer a question
    Sunday, September 4, 2016 10:57 AM

All replies

• I found similar thread here: