none
WHS Stalling, strange drive access pattern RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I've been running WHS on a computer I built myself for about 3 or 4 months now. I recently upgraded the 120 day evaluation to the full version using the guides on this website. While I was getting the server ready for migration to the full version, I noticed that when I was logged into the admin acount, either locally or by remote desktop connection, the OS would seem to freeze for 5 to 10 minutes, then suddenly lurch into action again. This was not the case when I had originally installed WHS trial. I figured that the reinstall would clear it, and just went ahead with it.

Unfortunately, after reinstall, the error was still there. The system is sometimes fine, then sometimes frozen in some kind of cryo stasis, but not crashing. This affects the logged in user by stalling the OS while I'm trying to administrate the computer. It also affects the WHS connector, by saying the server cannot be contacted (since it's currently stalled out). It also affects when I either write to, or read from a shared folder on the server, causing programs to time out.

I tried to look at the task manager to see if my CPU went to 100%, but this is not occuring, the HDD is often stuck at 0% during these spells. When the system is running smooth, there are no errors for drives or folders in WHS connector. I have run WD diagnostics on the two drives in the computer (2x 1.5TB WD Cavair Green), but the tests came up clean. I ran these tests in the windows version of the diagnostic, and do not trust them as much as a dos based bootdisk diag, which I will be doing this week when I have time to extract the floppy maker onto a USB drive.

The only thing I have found is in performance monitor, the HDD usage spikes from 100% to 0% each time the monitor ticks forward, creating a pattern that looks similar to a gamma ray sine wave. It's just too uniform a pattern to be unrelated. (I'd post a screenshot, but I'm not sure how).