MCPD certifcation - i need advice RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am a vb.net 2005 developer.  I've been coding in it for about 3 years.  My company is willing to pay for me to get certified.  I know that the MCPD exams for 2005 have all been retired.  I am pushing to update our environment to 2010, but that may take some time.  I don't want to have to wait to get certfied in something.  With that said, I have 2 questions.

1.  I read that even if you are on or going to .net 2010, exam 70-536 (Microsoft .NET Framework – Application Development Foundation) would still be beneficial to have.  Do you agree with that?  I figure by the time I am done with this, we would be upgraded to 2010.

2  Has anyone done the e-learning courses instead of the classroom training?  I like the idea of e-learning because I can take my time and not have everything crammed into a one week class.

Do you think I am on the right path, or should I go about this a different way?

Thanks!

Wednesday, November 2, 2011 7:01 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Just saw this unanswered question:

1) 70-536 covers some topics so I agree that some knowledge is really helpfull. But I wouldn't do the certification again. Just look if you can get your hands on the book (Self-Paced Training kit) and read it. That is enough to know what the .Net Framework offers. (And the book should be quite cheap - check amazon - they offer used books, too!)

2) The e-learning is quite nice and I tested it a little (had 2 free courses with an MSDN subscription in the past). But I disliked e-elearnings. I stick to the self-paced training kit with a lot of practice! (I really play around with the technology. That takes time but I not just want to get the cetrificate. I really want to learn it!)

With kind regards,

Konrad

• Marked as answer by Mr. Wharty Thursday, February 2, 2012 7:48 AM
    Monday, November 21, 2011 8:31 AM
    Answerer
  • Well I am Irish so my English is only so so :)