none
How to pass a Gridview label to code behind via a function RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to VB and Visual Studio and would greatly appreciate help in accessing data from a GridView Column.

I need to EITHER pass a Gridview label to the code behind via a function OR retrieve the Gridview label directly from the function in the code behind. The function is GetVideoLink() and I coded it to return the location of a video to the video controls source in the GridView. The video is held in a table and it is retrieved via SqlDataSource using the email as a unique identifier. Each video and corresponding email are held in the same GridView column. The Gridview only displays rows that have a video and email. This code works if I hard-code the email in the code behind or if I pass the hard-coded email to the code behind via the function. 

My initial approach was to pass "EmailLabel.Text" to the code behind via the GetVideoLink() function. 

My second approach was to retrieve the GridView label directly from the code behind, which seems much more involved, and which is why my preference would be to pass the value of the email to the function (the function is called once for each row).

When I try to run with either approach, I get the error "object reference not set to an instance of an object ". 

This is the portion of the current code for my second approach (I bolded the relevant items):

FRONT END CODE:

<asp:TemplateField HeaderText="Video" SortExpression="Video1">

<EditItemTemplate>
                            &nbsp;<br />
                            <asp:Label ID="LabelVideo1" runat="server" Height="25px" Text="Label" Width="28px"></asp:Label>
                            <asp:TextBox ID="TextBox1" runat="server" Text='<%# Bind("Video1") %>'></asp:TextBox>
                        </EditItemTemplate>
                        <ItemTemplate>
                            <asp:Label ID="EmailLabel" runat="server" Text='<%# Bind("Email") %>'></asp:Label>