none
UPDATE: HOW IS THE MICROSOFT MONEY PROGRAM WORKING FOR YOU NOW? RRS feed

• Question

• It has been over four months now since Microsoft "pulled the plug" on its personal financial program, MONEY. There were many regulars here who have benefited from the program over the years. I thought it would be interesting to hear how others have handled the situation. Here is my story.

I have been a MONEY user since 1995. Fortunately, when Money stopped selling the product in stores and only sold via download, I stopped purchasing the annual upgrade. I had been using Money premium 2007, purchased in the Fall of 2006 right thru the end of 2010. No issues with authorization codes, etc. for me. In January, 2011 I downloaded and saved Money Plus (the Sunset version). I then easily moved my 16 years of data to the new Money Plus and continue doing the same things with Money that I have been doing since 1995. The ONLY real change for me is I now spend about three minutes each evening manually entering the daily price updates from my portfolio which I get from the Fidelity website. I have always entered my credit card and checking account transactions manually. I utilize Money's budget, tax forecast, reports, lifetime planning, portfolio manager, net worth, cash flow, etc. to manage my personal finances. As I am now retired, this program has allowed me to KNOW exactly how much I spend each year, how much money I receive each year, how much I have remaining in assets and liabilities. Hopefully, it will continue to work well for me into the future.

How is MONEY working for you? Did you try Quicken? I'd love to hear your comments. Steve

UPDATE ON JANUARY 3, 2012.