So I can't change my hardware? RRS feed

• Question

• I changed the motherboard and graphics card in my system, as well as the ram. I do this semi frequently, as I am a system builder, and have enough parts at my home to build atleat 2 computers at any given time. I went from one NForce 4 Board to another to try out SLI with the new Nvidia driver, to see if it was worth my while to pickup another SLI board and cards with Vista yet.

I have a legit Vista Business x64 OEM purchased with the parts to build my current PC.

Well, I turned on my PC last night only to be told my copy of windows was not valid, something that never happened with XP, ever. Fine, I click on the resolve this now link, which launches my Firefox, makes me install a plugin I don't want, and then fails to solve my problem anyway. I launch IE7 64, which guess what the stupid activex control is not compatible with. I launch IE7 32 which finally installs the activex control I don't want, and then fails to solve my problem. I am told each time that it cannot determine the validity of my windows, which is ***.

I already submitted my tech support ticket by email, and for MS employees looking into this, its confirmation #1033840975, which included the output of the WGA Diag tool, which didn't help me at all.

I am extremely upset by this development. As part of my job I am constantly trying new hardware, and new software to keep my skills up. I am currently responsible for about 97 XP Pro seats in a volume license within the organization I work for. I have to tell you that this event is making me question using any MS products down the road, and is giving me good reason to convert the entire organization over to linux and openoffice.