Distorted music from WHS RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,
     This is my first time posting to the forums and it is because I am having problems with my WHS. After installing the OEM software onto a pieced together system, I transfered music, pics, and videos from my desktop through the network to the new server. I setup windows media player 11 to take music off the server for streaming audio but when it is streamed to my desktop some of the songs have garbled sound like a skipping cd. If I listen to the same song from my desktop harddrive where the files were trasnfered from originally it sounds fine. The same thing happens to the videos with the sound and the pictures don't show sometimes. I also have a problem with my pics where in thumbnail/icons have pixalated lines across them.
    Any ideas?

sinrkin
    Wednesday, March 17, 2010 6:53 PM

All replies

• Hello everyone,
     This is my first time posting to the forums and it is because I am having problems with my WHS. After installing the OEM software onto a pieced together system, I transfered music, pics, and videos from my desktop through the network to the new server. I setup windows media player 11 to take music off the server for streaming audio but when it is streamed to my desktop some of the songs have garbled sound like a skipping cd. If I listen to the same song from my desktop harddrive where the files were trasnfered from originally it sounds fine. The same thing happens to the videos with the sound and the pictures don't show sometimes. I also have a problem with my pics where in thumbnail/icons have pixalated lines across them.
    Any ideas?

sinrkin
    First, did you install WMP 11 on the server?  If so, that is unsupported (as is installing any application from the server desktop).

Having said that, do you have the problem when playing the files from multiple clients (or just one)?  It might be network related (failing NIC, out-of-date driver, bad ethernet cable, etc.)