Backups freeze at 67% RRS feed

• Question

• I am very new to servers and WHS so bear with me if I ask stupid questions.

I have bought a Acer Apire Easystore with WHS to use primary as a backup server for 2 computers. The 2 computers that are connected to it are running Windows 7 64-bit. I did not find out till later that WHS doesn't work well with Windows 7 64-bit.

My problem is that my backups freeze at 67% and never finish. I have updated WHS to the latest and greatest. Is there anything else I can or should do?
    Saturday, March 13, 2010 1:55 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Is this when you are trying to make a backup, or restoring from a backup?  I'll assume you are getting the problem when you are backing up.  My guess is you have a second drive and the failure is happening because there are errors on this disk. 

On you Windows 7 PC you need to run eithe run chkdsk /r on each drive from the command prompt or in my computer right click on each drive, select properties and run check diks making sure you check both checkboxs to fix errors and to scan and test the whole disk.

Windows Home Server works fine with Windows 7 64-bit.   The only gotcha is on restoring 64-bit OSes where you actually need the 32-bit drivers for the first part of the recovery.

Cheers,
    Al

--
    Saturday, March 13, 2010 4:26 PM
  • Ok, I ran chkdsk and checked both boxes to scan and fix any errors. I also found that I was missing a raid driver in my device manager which I updated but the problem still exists. Is there anything else I could try to resolve this issue?
    Sunday, March 14, 2010 8:08 PM
  • 67% suggests to me that it's afailing on the backup of the 3rd drive.  With most W7 installs you will have a 1/200MB System Partition and then a partition taking up the rest of the first physical drive with the OS on (C:)  do you have a D: or some other drive connected because I think it's failing here.