Barebone Kit or build from gound up? RRS feed

• Question

•  

I've been looking at various barebone kits and barebone components. I've had some experience under the hood of the computer with everything from memory upgrades, video cards, lancards, new drives the like. Never built from the ground up though. I've been  looking for components over the last couple of weeks. Now I've run across Kits and preassembled Kits as well.Any advice on which, brands to look out for or avoid etc.... Still debating if I,m going with a midtower or micro ATX. Leaning toward the midtower for the extra room, but I am tempted at the price and space savings on the micro. Right now I'm looking at either a "preassembled" Asus P5GC Kit (midtower) I saw at Tigerdirect or a Asus micro ATX at Tiger as well.

Want to know what others are doing. I've got my OEM version and want to be up and going by Thanksgiving. Whose building, buying now and has any advise

Saturday, November 3, 2007 8:21 PM

All replies

• How much storage do you think you might need? Are you planning on switching folder duplication on for all folders? If you want a lot of storage, and you want duplication then you will either need big drives, or lots of space for smaller drives.

Andrew

Saturday, November 3, 2007 8:35 PM
  • Going with min of two internal drives  (Mid-ATX). Going to go with 2 500 GB hardrives as a starter. I want file duplication but if I use a larger case allows me another internal hard drive later. My debate is to whether to limit myself to external drives in the future if I don't build a setup supporting a min of three internals. Did some reading and althought not required got the idea if your thinking long haul and want file duplication  thats the way to go 

Saturday, November 3, 2007 8:42 PM
  • Yeah, personally I agree with you. While I like using external drives for the occasional storage (pre WHS) I would feel more comfortable with internal drives. If for no other reason that its neater.

Andrew