Live Mesh failed to start...used to work just fine RRS feed

• Question

• I've been using Live Mesh for many months now.  I have 3 computers setup to synchronize some folders and this was working fine.  I like the product a lot.  I've used up my 5GB storage, and nobody can tell me how I can get more, I'm willing to pay $$$.

Anyways, I noticed this morning that after my computer applied some mandatory Microsoft updates, that Live Mesh no longer works.  In fact, it doesn't start.  It comes up and says that it failed to start and says click here to restart but it always fails.  I've tried to right click on the icon and check for updates but it says that it is up to date. 

My comptuer is a ThinkPad X61 tablet with 2GB of RAM running WIndows Vista Business with SP2.  I don't know how to send any logs since I can't even get Live Mesh to work anymore.
    Thursday, December 17, 2009 7:21 PM

Answers

• More than likely you've both hit a known bug with Passport that Mesh exposed.  Due to the way Mesh uses Passport login in ways that haven't been before, there is a problem with it on rare occurances that cause Passport to incorrectly update it's system with regards to your registered computers for Mesh. 

Unfortunately the only fix for this is to uninstall Mesh from that computer and reinstall it back again. 

When you do, you'll just have to select your folders you were sync'ing before to sync again, Mesh will just do a hash compair and only update if it needs to and resume normal sync again.

-Ken
    • Marked as answer by kensm [msft] Monday, January 11, 2010 2:41 AM
    Monday, January 11, 2010 2:41 AM

All replies

• I assume that you've rebooted the PC to see if the problem goes away on a restart.
    There are a few reasons that people have encountered with the "failed to start" issue, but usually this happens immediately after an install and means something went wrong with the installation.