none
PowerShell's variable output issue RRS feed

• General discussion

• This is my first post and I know I am a noob concerning Powershell and it may be a very simple thing I am asking, but I could yet not find any way to solve my problem.

I am running a tiny script to read from a server the printers and I want to export results filterd and in a specific format (CSV) with also adjusting the content while creating the output. Here is what I am doing (servername replaced due to data privacy):

cls
    $prt = Get-WmiObject Win32_Printer -ComputerName "MYPRINTSERVER" | Where-Object {$_.PortName -match "EQ"} 
    $a = ($prt.PortName -replace "EQ_", "")
    $a

In the PowerShell output I am seeing already what I want (at first look, but that's something else for later to ask maybe), IPs changed due to data privacy:

PowerShell direct out:

When I am now using "Export-CSV" for this result, I am getting this in my file:

#TYPE System.String
    "Length"
    "13"
    "13"
    "13"
    "13"
    "13"
    "13"
    "13"

I am assuming that has to do with the variable format (perhaps by using "-replace")? Howsoever I am not able to get my output just as CSV values. If I am using "Out-File" as a TXT I am getting the list of IPs, though not comma sparated.

Any help highly appreciated! Thanks everyone!

Regards Sascha

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 7, 2017 10:59 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Tuesday, November 7, 2017 11:00 PM This is not "fix/debug/rewrite my script for me" forum
    Monday, September 25, 2017 4:49 PM

All replies

• Alright, took my lessons and learned a bit more, though still not reached my goal. What is my goal?

Well, I want a CSV (because it has comma separators) from my script which contains simply the printer queue name and the (filterd by EQ_) port, but with EQ_ information removed in the output data.

Currently I am that far:

"Name","PortName"
    "MYPRINT01-009C","EQ_99.99.152.56"
    "MYPRINT01-008B","EQ_99.99.152.35"