Impossible to connect with Windows Home Server for recovery RRS feed

• Question

• I have followed various threads, tips, and techniques to attempt a recovery from my Home Server.  It's been fine to store files and once you get rid of a few add-ins, it's actually reasonably fast.  Ah, but when it comes time to recover, that's another story.

I have changed DHCP settings, eliminated hard-wired IP addresses, connected via a router that has nothing else on it, used a crossover cable, you name it.  Can't find the server.

I have "restored" my crashed PC with recovery disks.  So the good news is that I have a nice fast Vista Ultimate 64 machine.  And, I have my data.  Just not my OS image.  The bad news is that I want the machine I had before and can't get it.  And, there's nice backup on the Home Server.  I recovered an XP machine 10 months ago, no problem.  Not so with my fairly new Vista machine.

Sorry for the rant, but it simply should not be this hard.  I am not an expert but can find my way around a PC and a network.  I'd like to think there is a way - one little setting no doubt.  Surely this rather elegant backup solution is better than the likes of Norton and company.

THE ONLY CLUE I have remaining is this form the technical documentation...

If you are restoring from a 64-bit computer the drivers that are stored in the backup will be 64-bit.  These will not function with the 32-bit restore CD.  Therefore it is may be necessary to obtain 32-bit versions of the network driver and storage-device drivers for your 64-bit computer, while doing a restore of your home computer.

I have Seagate drives and who knows what network adapter.  If I could find these drivers, I don't know how I would get them inserted into the recovery process.  As someone said, you need a Command Prompt somewhere along the line.

I hope someone can show me the way...
    Monday, February 8, 2010 4:30 AM

Answers

• Hi,