locked
Undoing what WinRaR has done. RRS feed

  • Question

  • I need help. I was just recently updating my Technical Knowledge base file named "Techdisk.rar (11+ GB large) by adding a few files in it. In the WinRar "Archive name and parameter" dialog box I have chosen the "synchronize archive content" in the drop down list for the Update mode. When I click "Next", the compression utility did its thing. But after a few seconds, God! I noticed the content of my archive "Techdisk.rar" was reduced to mere 17.7 MB. What happened here---where did the rest of my files go? Did WinRar just wiped them all out of existence without it first prompting the usual "WARNING" message telling the user that the update mode I have chosen will eventually lead to this. Is there a way at all to undo what WinRaR has done? Everything in that archive is a knowledege base gathered from almost a life's work of 20 years. It's the only backup file I have left and I'm hoping that someone out there can help me. I need to recover those files and if you know of any software out there that promises to recover even at least 75% of it I won't hesitate to give it a try. 


    Wednesday, August 31, 2011 2:10 PM