none
In need of help with a back up drive.

Question

• I need help please.

I have laptop with windows 7 and im trying to back up all of my files and everything that is on it because i will be switching between school accts and my personal accts like G-mail, and social media...etc. and i would hate to have anything happen to my school work or certifacations that i want to save to my laptop for my reseme for future employment is there a external drive that i need to down load or can download to make this an easier process for me? or do i have to buy an expensive package with this feature as im a student and dont have a whole lot of money to be spending?  so any and all help would be greatly apprieciated

Thank you, Heidi Hoyt-Berg

Sunday, September 10, 2017 9:57 AM

All replies

• Hello Heidi,

If you are going to backup anything then you need somewhere to back it up too. Using the same hard-drive isn't a good idea. So you would need to get an external USB type hard-drive to backup too (one of the small portable drives would be fine). Once you have that then look into the following program, FreeFileSync:  https://www.freefilesync.org

I use FreeFileSync to backup my important data from my desktop computer to external hard-drives and it works very well. It's a bit of learning curve to learn how to use it, but once done, and you understand it, it all becomes very easy indeed - you can do a backup/sync with a couple of clicks of the mouse.

If, when using FreeFileSync, you want to back-up, or sync files, from two locations, say, your laptop and your computer account at school, both being backed-up from/to your external drive then you can do that too with FreeFileSync. However, to do that you would have to either:

a) Get your school to also install FreeFileSync to their own computers (or)