Duplicate insert conflict detection RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I am quite new to the synch framework, I have read quite a lot about it, as I need to create a multi client "OCA".

Now I have a problem, and don't know if it is me that didn't quite get something, or if I am taking the wrong approche to my problem.

I have different users that will be working offsite, updating the local cached databases that are then synched to a central server, either trough the company intranet or trough the internet. My problem is how to detect and solve the following conflict in a efficient manner:

- Two users work at the same new client site and they both have to enter a new row in a "Company" table, lets call it "company A". then they work with new contacts in that company and so on resulting in new rows in other tables related to the "company A" row. Each row in the company table has a GUID as primary key, meaning it is unique, even if the two companies are the same.. and when the synchronization happens, no conflicts are detected. This means that I have a duplicate "Company A" in the database with all related tables that either have one GUID or the other.  Now in my design, I try to limit the cases where this scenario happens buy requiring server access to enter a new company. But that doesn't eliminate the problem. the risk is still there... so i would like to somehow do a check on a different column in the table, like the company name, to recognize duplicates and merge the GUID's, on synchronization (this can work for instrument serial numbers.. etc.. that are unique)

Is there an efficient way to do this?

I though about using natural keys.. but that creates more problems on cascading the changes accross the different clients etc..

Thank you in advance.

• Moved by Hengzhe Li Friday, April 22, 2011 7:42 AM (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Monday, June 2, 2008 1:34 PM

Answers

•