I am not able to start the WHS console. WHS is reporting that the Backup service is not running. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi...
    I know I am a rookie ...I have searched the forum trying to find an answer to my problem...
    I have found a few similar problems but none which seems to be identical.

My shared folders have disappeared
    On WHS  the D: drive is not accessible.  It reports that "The file or directory is corrupted and unreadable."

I am not able to start the WHS console.  WHS is reporting that the Backup service is not running.

When restarting WHS I am told that the OS
    encountered a problem and needed to close.
       The error signature reads:
          szAppName : demigrator.exe szAppVer : 6.0.2423.0 szModName : deutil.dll
          szModVer : 6.0.2423.0 offset : 0001a308

I have 4 physical disks in my WHS (one of which is not added).  The disks seem to be fine.  Diskmanagement states that they are healthy.

I have no idea on how to get my data back...
    I would really appreciate if anyone would be able to help me out with some good advice....

Thank you
    Bjorn

Thursday, February 25, 2010 7:26 PM

All replies

• Log into your server using Remote Desktop and run chkdsk on all your drives.
    I'm not on the WHS team, I just post a lot. :)
    Thursday, February 25, 2010 8:04 PM
  • I have run your chkdsk script.
    chkdsk reports that is is unable to determine volume version and state for D:....which makes sense since D: is unavailable.

If I schedule the volume to be checked after the next restart,  chkdsk reports that "Windows has checked the file system and found no problems."
    The script is run on:
    C:\
    C:\fs\1K
    C:\fs\1I

If don't scheduled the volume to be checked after the next restart: chkdsk reports that everything is OK with  C:\fs\1K and it reports "No Access" to C:\fs_1I

Thank you
    /Bjorn

Saturday, February 27, 2010 12:26 AM
  • I have run your chkdsk script.