Largest capacity WHS setup RRS feed

• Question

• Here's the complete noob question for the hour.  Actually 2 questions:

First, what is the largest WHS setup that anyone has seen or used?

Second, is there a limit to the total size that WHS will manage?

Thanks,

Patrick

Tuesday, October 23, 2007 4:27 AM

Answers

• Well, what I declined to add to my post, is that it seems unlikely that software would impose a limit (remember the 137GB BIOS barrier?)

NTFS has such an extreme capacity limit, I don't see how DriveExtender would be affected by the total size of the server.

Also, when those 1-2+TB drives show up, it seems plausible there will be another version of WHS available by then.  (if there's a problem with v1.0)

So in summation -- I think people are looking and not responding because we don't know of any limit.
    Tuesday, October 23, 2007 9:15 PM

All replies

• The largest WHS I've ever heard of is 6 TB.
    Tuesday, October 23, 2007 5:06 AM
  • Now, just to make my question clearer;  I want to know if WHS has a limit to the TOTAL size of storage that it will manage, for instance, my case will hold 9 hard drives.  If I threw 9 1 terabyte drives into it, would WHS choke?  What about in the future when 1.5 to 2 TB drives come into existence?  (Please don't start posts regarding the when drives of this size will appear; it'll happen, it's just a matter of time.)

I would love to think that WHS is scalable into infinity, but past experience with other Microsoft OS's shows that there is a limit (designed or otherwise) to manageable capacity.

I see a lot of people reading this post without giving any input.  Please post and let me know!  Thanks!
    Tuesday, October 23, 2007 8:14 PM
  • Well, what I declined to add to my post, is that it seems unlikely that software would impose a limit (remember the 137GB BIOS barrier?)

NTFS has such an extreme capacity limit, I don't see how DriveExtender would be affected by the total size of the server.