So which Brainiac at MS decided removing DE from WHS was a good idea? RRS feed

• General discussion

• My whole premise on WHS (HOME being the important word here....) was that it was a simple and relatively easy way for folks at home (not techy geeks) to be able to have all their information backed up safe and secure and add storage easily as necessary.

After doing a lot of reasearch  this is why I went with WHS v1 - the Drive Extender capabilities were what did it for me. So I got my PC up and running, installed WHS v1 - and have been as happy as a clam ever since - adding drives as and when I need, and not worrying about their size or anything else...it just works and it is EASY for me to do. the was the SINGLE biggest factor that led me to purchase this microsoft product. 

As I was doing my research I read about other mechanisms - e.g. RAID - and even though I work in IT - I could not understand a word of what most of the documentation would talk about.

Now that DE has been dropped from WHS - I will NOT be upgrading and I will NOT be buying this product or sending any money to microsoft for their upgrade until it is put back in.

Which bright spark at microsoft actually believes that we as HOME users really want to become geek tech lords and can talk binary with the best of them OR that as a result of the upgrade I would then want/need to hire a permanent IT manager for my server and home network.....absolutely rediculous.

The key here Microsoft is that for HOME users you need to keep it simple/easy and understandable....and you had this with WHS v1 - even I could understand it and get it working correctly....you have now done a complete about face and made this most precious capability difficult if not impossible with the latest release.

Anyone from Microsoft willing to share the compelling reason why me as a non tech geek lord would want to spend money on upgrading to the latest and greatest WHS? I cannot find one....