Billing problems from the ticketing system RRS feed

• Question

• I am VERY new to CRM administration and got this job tasking by not being fast enough to say, "not it."  That being the case, I am trying to get the existing ticketing system to report our billable hours associated with each ticket. 

Here is what I have thus far:
    I have created a report in Reporting Services using the following entities:
    IncidentResolution
    IncidentBase
    AccountBase

I am using the "ActualDurationMinutes" as the "Billable Time" that we invoice off of.  Now here is my quandry.....   All the Tasks and Service Activities must tie into a "Billable Time" somewhere.  Here is what is killing me here:

Is this the actual total amount of time considered billable once a case is resolved? 
    If it is, then why is the total "Billable Time" that comes up as a ticket is resolved the time in the History does not seem to match the time that comes up as the "Billable Time?"
    Lastly, am I using the right attribute and entity to pull the sum total of billable time associated with each ticket to include all phone calls, tasks, service activites, etc?

I really appreciate any help on this.  I have 3 books and no SQL Reporting Services experience prior to this and have at least got 3 reports that seem like they are giving me what I want, but then again I can't prove whether it is all inclusive or not.

wayne@inflowsys.com
    Thursday, November 8, 2007 7:32 PM

Answers

• There are no particularly good resource for this. The Entity Model section of the CRM SDK (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa682857.aspx) is fairly good for the relatioships, and does at least give a line about each field (drill down the the class pages), but takes a bit of wading through. Once you know the entity structures I find it easiest to look at the data directly in SQL Server

Friday, November 9, 2007 4:54 PM

All replies