Training for Microsoft Visual studio.net 2010 or 2008 RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I am in IT field for the last 4 years I put all of my effort on networking and I did my N+ and CCNA and still preparing 70-640 and CCNP exam so I am week in programming field I started learning  visual studio 2005 by self study on  2008 then I grasp few knowledge and I stoped at that time, now I need to start visual studio.net from the scratch so that I can build in the future complex applications so please may you share with the best complete  video boot camp training / online classes  that  can prepare for me  to build small to large .net applications  and how many months do you think it will take to me to become programmer in .net

With Regards,

Friday, March 9, 2012 7:19 AM

Answers

• Hi,

there are a lot of books available. I really liked these books:
    - SelfPaced Training Kits are great. They can give you a good understanding of a technology. So far I read these: 70-536, 70-505, 70-511, 70-515, 70-516, 70-503 (maybe 70-505 is no longer of interest because it targets Windows Forms, 70-503 is the old WCF book because the new one wasn't available last time I checked it.) and also 70-433 (SQL Server Datatabase developer)
    - Object Thinking of MS Press to get an overview about how to develop object oriented solutions
    - Microsoft .Net: Architecting Applications for the Enterprise (MS Press) to get an understanding what is important with object oriented applications
    - Agile Project Management with Scrum (Maybe not really required if you do not want to develop software in a small team - in which something like SCRUM is really good)

So you see: Just with books you can spend years reading ... But never forget to get practice, too! (That is a reason why I like the Self-Paced training kits - I am always spending some time after each chapter to play around with the covered technology)