How to prepare for MTA 98-363/MCSD? RRS feed

• Question

• Hey everyone,

I've got a few questions as I'm unsure which direction to go.... I'm currently a web development student, and I've dealt mainly with HTML5 and CSS/CSS3...I'd like to dig into a Microsoft certification, and it looks as if the MTA - Web Development is the way to start, and then move up to MCSD.

that being said, do I *need* to take exam 98-363? (MTA:Web Development Fundamentals) before taking exams 480, 486, and 487? (MCSD:Web Applications)

and if I don't need to take it, would it help to take it?

Also....where would be a good place to study for that? I've looked around and found the asp.net web pages tutorials section - would this cover anything important? Looks like it goes over CSHTML pages, razer syntax, databases, and all of that stuff.

Monday, February 11, 2013 4:44 AM

Answers

• No, you don't have to take the 98-xxx (MTA) exam before starting on the main track 70-xxx exams. In fact, if you have a significant amout of experience on developing web apps, you may find that the MTA exam is well below your level of knowledge. On the other hand, if you are a student or beginner, the MTA exam can help you get a "taste" for the certification exams, and provide you with an initial certification (which is completely independent and does not influence the MCSD).

I suggest accessing the Microsoft Virtual Academy (MVA) and following the free course on HTML, javascript and CSS, which prepares you for exam 70-480. This is a god way to get started.

Monday, February 11, 2013 10:18 AM

All replies