Before I buy hardware, please comment. RRS feed

• Question

• Not looking for a gurantee, just some opinions from some people with a little more tech experience than I have. From the specs below, does it look like it will work with out any major headaches? Thanks.

I have been looking for an affordable to mid priced computer to purchase for WHS. Wanted something that would last and give me lots of room to expand. Found this deal, but I am not a hardware expert. Can I get some comments on whether this is suitable for a WHS server. I was mostly concerned with the Win 2003 driver issue. I looked on the internet, and if I read correctly, it is compatible. Almost seemed like over kill for me, but the price sounded good and it is a server mobo. $329.00
    Here are the specs: Condition: New

Features/Specifications:
    • Intel SC5300BASE Xeon 3.4 GHz Server Chassis

• General Features:
    • No Server Operating System
    • Intel Server Chassis SC5300
    • Intel Xeon 3.4 GHz processor
    • 800 MHz CPU FSB
    • 1 MB L2 cache
    • 2 GB DDR2 Registered RAM (16 GB maxium of DDR2-400)
    • 750 GB SATA hard drive
    • ATI RAGE XL SVGA PCI video controller with 8 MB of video memory
    • Dual Intel PRO/1000 Server Network Connections

• Motherboard Features:
    • Intel Server Board SE7520AF2
    • Intel E7520 Chipset
    • Intel IOP332 processor with Intel XScale technology
    • SSI Entry E-Bay v3.5 form factor
    • Two (2) 604-pin Xeon sockets
    • Supports One or two 64-bit Intel Xeon or Dual-Core Intel Xeon processors (only one CPU installed)
    • 800 MHz system bus speed
    • Dual-channel integrated Ultra320 SCSI controller

• Expansion Ports:
    • One (1) PCI Express x8 slot
    • One (1) PCI Express x4 slot
    • Two (2) PCI-X 133 MHz PCI-X slots
    • One (1) PCI-X 100 MHz PCI-X slots
    • Eight (8) 240-pin DIMM sockets

• I/O Ports:
    • Two (2) Front Panel USB 2.0 ports
    • Three (3) USB 2.0 ports
    • Two (2) PS/2 ports