0X800CCC0F Error when accessing email thru Outlook (or Thunderbird) RRS feed

• Question

• I've read several posts that suggest options to fix this and none have worked.  Everything was working fine until about 3 weeks ago and no mail received since then. I have been running OneCare for a couple of months so this issue started several weeks after installing.

The problem occurs with OneCare installed and uninstalled, firewall turned on and off.

I have created a new Outlook profile based on various Microsoft KB articles - no solution.

I have tried a different email client (Thunderbird) - same issue.

I have dual-booted into linux where the connection does work and I can send and receive, so I am assuming the issue is not with my settings, my ISP or my router.

Some posts have indicated that a recent update to OneCare inserted Digital ID's that were causing the problem with the Windows mail email client.  I have not found one under Outlook but I may not know what I'm looking for.

Appreciate any help!

Charles

Vista Home Premium sp1

Outlook 2003

OneCare 2.5.2900.20

Firewall policy 1.2.32.119

Virus version: 1.49.33.0

Wednesday, December 3, 2008 11:55 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Charles, I don't know if this is a One Care issue. Have you looked at this KB article - http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;813514  ?

Can you send and receive mail using Windows Mail?

Thursday, December 4, 2008 2:47 AM
  • Thanks for the response JimR1

Yes I did see this KB article and several others.  Outlook was sending/receiving just fine prior to about 3 weeks ago.  I have set up many email clients over the years so I'm pretty confident in my settings.

I did try Windows Mail and still see the problem: