Automatic Lead Data Import API from Lead Portals (i.e. Franchise.com, etc.) RRS feed

• Question

• Ok, first a disclaimer: I am a NOOB!

Now that we have THAT out of the way, I need to know how to set up a way for our lead portals (like Franchise.com, FranchiseGator.com, etc.) to forward any potential leads directly into CRM.  We are brand new to Dynamics CRM.  Currently, these resources are sending the data to our eMaximation account via emails, which are then parsed.  We want to eliminate that process and have the data come into our CRM directly. 

In some of my discussions with our lead portals, they are doing similar things with SalesForce via an API, which is set up as simply a url with certain keys and parameters to connect with SalesForce.  I'm assuming there is something similar available for CRM.

Can anyone shed any light on this for me?  We are a MS Dynamics CRM 2013 Online subscriber.

Thanks!

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 5:46 PM

Answers

• Ok, so first off, you don't want to add the "send email" step from a web form to CRM.  You're wasting a step.  The web form itself should send the data directly to CRM as a Lead.  You have structured data on the form (e.g. First Name, Last Name, Email), and the same in CRM.  No reason to munge that up in an email and then force yourself to write a parser just to get it back out of the email.  CRM has web services that can be posted to from the web form itself (note: this is what you're looking for that is similar to Salesforce's URL, keys and parameters).

You will need Visual Studio (which fortunately comes in a free version that will work with CRM), and the Dynamics CRM SDK: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40321

That SDK has a help file with a whole lot of explanation of what you will need to write, and a lot of example code.  I think there's even a Lead form submission you could use with a minimum of changes.