0xC3EC79E6 error while starting services - Active Directory and Certificate errors? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone!

I'm new to Office Communications Server, and seem to be having a few problems getting it running.

We're going to be replacing our phone system soon and want to try out OCS 2007 before we decide to purchase it or not.

The problem:

I'm trying to install the OCS 2007 Trail (Standard Edition). It's gone through most of the setup fine, apart from when I go to start the services I get this error:

Code Snippet
    Action Action Information Execution Result
    Execute Action       Failure
    [0xC3EC79E6] Service failed to start as requested.
    Starting Service   Service Name: RTCSRV
    Descriptive Name: Office Communications Server Front-End
    Service Status: Error
      Failure
    Starting Service   Service Name: RTCACPMCU
    Descriptive Name: Office Communications Server Telephony Conferencing
      Failure
    Starting Service   Service Name: RTCIMMCU
    Descriptive Name: Office Communications Server IM Conferencing
      Failure
    Starting Service   Service Name: RTCDATAMCU
    Descriptive Name: Office Communications Server Web Conferencing
      Failure
    Starting Service   Service Name: RTCAVMCU
    Descriptive Name: Office Communications Server Audio/Video Conferencing
      Failure

I've been in the event log and I get one error and one warning message:

Error - 41038

Office Communications Server Web Conferencing Server could not be started

at Microsoft.Rtc.Server.DataMCU.ServiceWorker.StartServer(String[] args)

Resolution:
    Look in previous event logs for more information about this error

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

Warning - 41063

Could not connect to Active Directory to read configurations settings. Will retry in 30 seconds.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.