Installable web service on windows home server RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am very new to windows home server environment. New to c# language as well. Could any of you advise me if it is do-able or possible to do the following?

1. I need to create a installable .msi file for the WHS which installs a new website (RESTful webservices) on a certain port.
    2. The port number and domain name can be taken as input parameters during the installation process.
    3. Once the .msi file is installed, the new webservice should run on WHS without user configuring anything.

To add more complication to the requirement, at a later stage, there may be some services which may need to use even some SQL databases to store / retrieve contents for the service. Also new web services should be easily installable and should not disturb the old ones (both web services and data bases). How to do that? Any samples, resources, pointers, books?

Thanks,
    M

Wednesday, May 21, 2008 4:14 PM

All replies

• The way the add-in installation process works, you have to bake all configuration into your .msi installer. The user isn't asked any questions during the install process.

For more information about how to create a Windows Home Server add-in, you should consult the SDK. For the rest of your questions, consult any decent book about web development, but remember that Windows Home Server is not a general purpose server, so you're going to find it rather restrictive if you want to do something not envisioned as a core competency of the product. Not that you won't be able to succeed, but you may have to do some things that you'd rather not.

BTW, there is no DBMS installed with Windows Home Server. You will have to provide one and make sure that the installer for your add-in takes care of proper installation and configuration silently.
    Thursday, May 22, 2008 11:47 AM

• Hi,