locked
Disk Remove clears the disk prior to removal but how clean is it? RRS feed

  • Question

  • I removed a disk from my disk pool and all went well.  The volume name was changed to REMOVED and the disk appeard to have no data on it.  My question is how clean is the REMOVED disk?  I want to know if my old data is gone from a security standpoint.  What did WHS do to clear the disk of my files?  Drop the indexes or write over the existing data with 1's and 0's?
    Saturday, January 22, 2011 5:36 PM

All replies

  • As far as I know WHS does not "clean" de disk on removal.
    It just copies off any data (shared folders and backup databas) that would not be in the storage pool after removing the disk.

    To "clean" the disk after removal you'd need to clean it using some disk cleaning tool.
    - Theo.

     


    No home server like Home Server
    Saturday, January 22, 2011 10:34 PM
    Moderator