CAN'T SUBSCRIBE RRS feed

• Question

•  

Even though I still have 13 days left on my 90 day FREE TRIAL, I am being told that I am no longer protected. I have been trying to subscribe but your software wants a Windows Live ID and a password. How can I have a Windows Live ID and password if I have not subscribed yet? Your online help just sends me back to the window that wants the Windows Live ID and password.

Thursday, April 10, 2008 3:29 PM

Answers

All replies

• You can create a Live ID here - https://accountservices.passport.net/ppnetworkhome.srf?vv=550&lc=1033

then use the newly created Live ID to subscribe to One Care.

Thursday, April 10, 2008 5:25 PM
  • OK, now I have a Windows Live ID and a password. When I try to subscribe the software accepts my sign in as Step 1. In Step 2, "Associate this PC with a Subscription" when I click continue it takes me to a second Step 2, "Associate this PC with a Subscription" that says I need to subscribe. When I click "Continue Online", it takes me back to the original Step 1. Since everything seems to be operating normally, I guess I will just continue to use up the remaining 12 days in my Free Trial period and then order McAffee. Too bad, I like One Care but it seems that Microsoft does not want my money.

Friday, April 11, 2008 4:51 PM
  • Are you using Internet Explorer or another browser? Try making IE your default if it isn't already. Then go to Tools/Internet Options and on the Connections tab, LAN settings, make sure that automatically detect is not checked and that no proxy is defined. Delete your cookies, clear Temporary Internet Files, close IE.

Now, click on subscribe in OneCare and log in to see if you can complete the process.

-steve

Friday, April 11, 2008 5:56 PM
  • Steve,

I have had nothing but trouble since I let Microsoft update to IE7 so I am using the AT&T Yahoo browser that came with the AT&T DSL. The 90 day free trial of OneCare was a link on their home page.