Details of Conjugate prior for Gaussian RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Infer.Net, but I have some experience with probabilistic modelling, including conjugate priors and variational Bayes.

I'm trying to understand the constraints in Infer.Net which seem to require conjugate priors in places. For this email, let us use the good old Gaussian as example.

The conjugate prior for a Gaussian, with unknown mean and precision, is Gaussian-Gamma. This makes the mean dependent on the precision (in the prior). This gives a closed-form solution to the posterior (again Gaussian-Gamma) and a closed-form solution for the predictive distribution (Student's T). (This is all explained e.g. in Bishop's PRML.)

In the examples in Infer.Net however, the mean and precision are given independent Gaussian and Gamma priors. Each of these priors would be conjugate if the other parameter had been fixed. But when both mean and precision are unknown, the independent prior is not conjugate.

I do understand that VB and EP can handle models for which no closed-form solutions exist. For example, if we have a hierarchical model with three (continuous) unknowns, A-> B -> C, then even if P(A) is a conjugate prior for P(B|A) and P(B|A) is a conjugate prior for P(C|B), then we often have that the marginal P(B) is no longer conjugate to P(C|B). For example let P(C|B) be Gaussian, with mean B and fixed precision. Let P(B|A) be Gaussian with fixed mean and precision A and let A be Gamma. We have conjugacy associated with each step (each ->) in the hierarchy, but the marginal P(B) is Student's T and not conjugate to the Gaussian P(C|B), so that the marginal P(C) does not have a closed form. I know that VB can be used to provide approximate solutions for P(C) in this kind of model. (If we introduce an additional arc A->C, so that A is the precision for C, then P(A,B) is Gaussian-Gamma and conjugate to the Gaussian P(C|B,A) and then P(C) and P(A,B|C) do have the closed forms mentioned above.)