VS2008 (Release): Bi-directional data update. RRS feed

• Question

• Where can I find a working example of how to do a Bi-directional update.  I've been working through the data walkthroughs and cannot get the program to upload changed data. It reloads the data from the SQL server without uploading any changes in the customer table.  Note: Since I'm totally new to this API, probably something simple like missing a setting or property.

Thanks for any help

Ed Warren.

---------snippet----

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

Dim syncAgent As CustomersCacheSyncAgent = New CustomersCacheSyncAgent

'this should allow bidirectional updates.

syncAgent.Customers.SyncDirection = Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.SyncDirection.Bidirectional

Using syncClient As New ServiceReference1.CustomersCacheSyncContractClient

syncAgent.RemoteProvider = New Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.ServerSyncProviderProxy(syncClient)

Dim syncStats As Microsoft.Synchronization.Data.SyncStatistics = syncAgent.Synchronize

NorthwindDataSet.Customers.Merge(New LocalNorthwindCustomersTableAdapters.CustomersTableAdapter().GetData())

Dim syncSummary As String = "Total changes downloaded: " & _

syncStats.TotalChangesDownloaded.ToString() & vbCrLf & _

"Total changes uploaded: " & _

syncStats.TotalChangesUploaded.ToString() & vbCrLf & _

"Last successful synchronization: " & _

syncStats.SyncCompleteTime.ToString

MessageBox.Show(syncSummary)

End Using

End Sub

• Moved by Max Wang_1983 Friday, April 22, 2011 8:57 PM forum consolidation (From:SyncFx - Microsoft Sync Framework Database Providers [ReadOnly])
    Sunday, January 13, 2008 10:51 AM

Answers

• Hi Ed,

In order to make the bidir scenario work. you need to have :

1. setup the syncdirection as bidir, as you have already done

2. ensure you Server side sync adapters has the update/insert/delete command constructed. you can use the sqldbsyncadapterbulder class to do so