BRAND NEW system with MSMPENG.exe issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, So i've read about all of the issues, I've read Microsoft's position "The problem isn't with OneCare, it's with a CONFLICT one-care has with another process..."  Okay, well I am a newbie, i just built my first-ever computer, I've noticed msmpeng causing problems on my 2yr old laptop, so I figured I'd be FINE to choose OneCare as my firewall as i was building a new system from scratch and KNEW what i'd be installing initially. 

I've had my system running for about six days now. I've got NOTHING on my machine.  I lied.  I've installed Microsft Zune and MagicJack,  i've disabled both in my sysconfig, where I can disable startup or services or etc and so those two things aren't running,  I can SEE that they're stopped.  So given all of that,  I've got a FRESH NEW MACHINE with only Zune and Magic Jack installed but disabled,     HOW CAN I BE HAVING ISSUES WITH MSMPENG.EXE?  Did i make a poor choice in firewall software? 

It does EXACTLY what my old broken laptop did,  it runs my ram at exaclty 51%  all day long.  What do you reccommend to someone like me?  What can I do to fix this.  I have already disabled the service of Magic Jack and Zune.     Thank you Microsoft.  I've been extremely impressed with you and your support thus-far.  But I'm scared that this issues is unfixable and I'm just going to end up dropping one-care when my subscription expires in like two months...  Please help me, i'd love to fix this issue.

Wednesday, August 5, 2009 1:26 AM

Answers

All replies