file access problems with long running client processes (i.e. bittorrent, wuala, etc.) RRS feed

• Question

• I've been running WHS for several years now with only minor issues. A problem which wasn't too big of a deal a while back has now become more of a pain.

I run uTorrent on a Windows 7 box and point it at a WHS share (e.g. \\server\bittorrent). Downloading works great but seeding something for anything longer than 12-24 hours does not work. uTorrent thinks the file has disappeared. Watching the process with procmon shows lots of CreateFile requests that succeed and then all of a sudden fail implying that WHS did something that made the file temporarily unavailable.

I have the same problem with the online storage application Wuala. It is a Java based app that connects to a grid storage environment for backup and sharing. I have the same setup with WHS (e.g. data files stored at \\server\wuala). Wuala has several database files that I assume it keeps open continuously. After a while, I see InvalidHandle exceptions that imply the underlying file is no longer available.

Both the Wuala share and the Bittorrent share has folder duplication disabled.

Any ideas?

Thank!

Jonathan
    Tuesday, January 19, 2010 3:26 AM

Answers

• I've been running WHS for several years now with only minor issues. A problem which wasn't too big of a deal a while back has now become more of a pain.

I run uTorrent on a Windows 7 box and point it at a WHS share (e.g. \\server\bittorrent). Downloading works great but seeding something for anything longer than 12-24 hours does not work. uTorrent thinks the file has disappeared. Watching the process with procmon shows lots of CreateFile requests that succeed and then all of a sudden fail implying that WHS did something that made the file temporarily unavailable.