CRM 2011 - (Plugins) Update parent lookup record - Error (please double check my code) RRS feed

• Question

• I have been working on CRM for last 2 months, i am still learning and each passing day my skill set is getting better. Special thanks to you all for guiding me through whenever i am stuck. For this issue, I have already wasted enough hours on hit/try, can please review my code and suggest if that is the correct way of updating lookup fields in parent record.

Here is my scenario

1.     I have Parent table "Account" and a child table "Account Address"
    2.     One Account can have multiple addresses, but only one address can be primary (i am already done with that part)
    3.     On the Account table i have a lookup field that will show me primary account address
    4.     My plugin is registered on the Update event for the AccountAddress entity, i have a PreImage for AccountAddress

After i am done with Step 2, i have to update the data in the Lookup field in Account table, but i am getting an error at service.udpate(...) statement

Here is my code for step 3 above:

// field new_account in the line below holds the account ID (i.e. Parent record)
                            Entity account = service.Retrieve("account", ((EntityReference)preMessageImage["new_account"]).Id, new ColumnSet(true));
                            tracer.Trace("Account address ID: " + preMessageImage.Id);
                            if (account.Contains("new_primaryaddress"))
                            {
                                tracer.Trace("within IF contains block");
                                account.Attributes["new_primaryaddress"] = preMessageImage.Id;
                            }
                            else
                            {
                                tracer.Trace("within else contains block");   // this block is executed