none
Microsoft Exams / Certifications RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have been working as an IT administrator/IT technician for the past 16 years – the first 8 years part-time while taking my Master degree in computer science and the latest 8 years as a freelancer. The last 8 years I have been doing as a side business along my job developing financial software for a large bank. My freelance career started as a favor to a friend who needed some servers for his business and now I am serving a few smaller businesses.

Question 1:

What is my best option to get some Microsoft certifications?

I am not interested in joining a course as time is not my biggest asset. Nor I am interested in paying ($$$$) for a 3 day course at a certified partner. I am only interested in the exam.

There seems to be a lot of online courses and exam preparing materials but none seems to included the actual exam. Even Microsoft points to Prometric which only allows me to sign up with a sponsor?!

Now..

I know my way around most client/server architecture and most Microsoft technologies and services i.e. TS, AD, IIS, PDC, hyper-V, etc. Everything you need to set up a company from server to user and back. I started on the NT platform and just finished installing a full windows 2012 setup. I also do hardware, network, firewall, scripting and programming etc. My latest setup included a full migration from Exchange to Office 365 and NAV nativeDB to NAV SQL server etc.

While I never thought of this I was approached by Microsoft to join their partner program due to my recent purchase of 50 Office365 users. I had to decline as I do not have an established company. I do a simple pr. hours consultancy work under a temporarily position as this has worked best for me - until now - in regards to the complexity of having a company and a fulltime job.

Question 2: