none
Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU key change problem RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I am a computer technician and today I've come across a new problem. I had to re-install Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU on a customers' old Dell Optiplex GX260. The PC had no recovery partition or a recovery disc with it, so I had to use an old backup copy of Windows XP Professional with SP1.

During the installation, the system wouldn't accept the key from the COA on the side of his PC, so I used an old invalid key in order to finish the installation. Later I've updated it to SP2 from CD and went online to validate the installed Windows XP Professional now with SP2.

No mather what I did though, the system just wouldn't let me change the key to the valid one. The message I'm getting is always the same and it tells me to check if I didn't misstype the new key.

Now, I think the problem could be caused by the fact that the key is valid only for
    Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU. If there is a difference in keys for the XP Professional 1-2CPU and  XP Professional then my customer is in trouble. Is there any way I could make it work? Or is there a place where I could download the Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU from? The man had a valid Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU on his Dell before it died. He doesn't need a new key, just a copy of Windows XP Professional 1-2CPU.
    Sunday, January 20, 2008 11:53 PM

Answers

• Mark_J_Sturges,

Use this form http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/change_order/tag_transfer?c=us&l=en&s=gen&redirect=1 to transfer ownership of the Dell from the previous owner to the new owner.  If you don't know the previous owner's name, Dell requires the Service Tag and the Express Service Code to transfer ownership.  Both are on the Dell sticker on the computer case.