ImproperDistributionException in a built-in factor RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to Infer.NET. I am trying to implement my custom operator for Logistic factor. Operator attribute:

[FactorMethod(typeof(MMath), "Logistic", typeof(double))]

I create a binary logistic model with the following code.

Variable<int> dataCount = Variable.Observed(xObs.Length).Named("dataCount");
    int D = xObs[0].Count;
    Range n = new Range(dataCount).Named("n");

Vector meanW = Vector.Zero(D);
    Variable<Vector> w = Variable.VectorGaussianFromMeanAndPrecision(
    				meanW, PositiveDefiniteMatrix.Identity(D)).Named("W");

Variable<double> bias = Variable.GaussianFromMeanAndPrecision(0, 1).Named("bias");

VariableArray<Vector> x = Variable.Observed<Vector>(null, n).Named("X");
    VariableArray<double> logisticArgs = Variable.Array<double>(n).Named("logist_arg");
    logisticArgs[n] = Variable.InnerProduct(x[n], w).Named("inner") + bias ;

VariableArray<bool> yData = Variable.Observed<bool>(null, n).Named("Y");
    VariableArray<double> probs = Variable.Array<double>(n).Named("probs");
    probs[n] = Variable.Logistic(logisticArgs[n]).Named("logistic");
    yData[n] = Variable.Bernoulli(probs[n]);

// x.ObservedValue and yData.ObservedValue are properly set

The goal is to infer meanW (VectorGaussian) and bias (Gaussian) with EP. Among others, I would need to implement

public static Gaussian XAverageConditional(Beta logistic, Gaussian x){....}
    in the class of my custom operator for sending an EP message to X, where X here is the argument of logistic(X). As I understand it, an EP message to X in this case can be an improper Gaussian. In fact during the inference, most of my outgoing messages to X are improper. However, when an outgoing message from the plus factor needs to be computed, an exception is thrown. I tracked it down and believed this method threw it.

public static Gaussian AAverageConditional([SkipIfUniform] Gaussian Sum, [SkipIfUniform] Gaussian b)