none
OAuth and Invoke-RestMethod RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm extremely new to using Powershell to script, so bear with me if this may be an easy question.  I'm also extremely new to using APIs and how to interact with them.  This question combines both of these things, PowerShell and using the Invoke-RestMethod to interact with an API.

My goal is to connect to our eCommerce platform so I can pull sales order data.  I've setup an integration point with the platform and I have the consumer key, consumer secret, access token, and access token secret information readily available.  A lot of the information I have seen talks about sending a POST command to get the access token, but seeing as how I already have that information, I shouldn't need to do that step right?  

To connect to our ecommerce platform there are a list of requirements that need to be passed in the Authorization header and they are:
    oauth_consumer_key
    oauth_nonce
    oauth_signature_method
    oauth_signature
    oauth_timestamp
    oauth_token

I found out how to make the authorization header in PowerShell, but I'm unsure of the rest of it.  So I was hoping someone could help me out in the best way to get all of the information needed in the Authorization header so I can get the information I need.  I think once I can get authorized, I should be able to query what I need.  

Here is a link to dev docs for where I'm trying to get access: https://devdocs.magento.com/guides/v2.2/get-started/authentication/gs-authentication-oauth.html

Thank You,
    Trevor Bensen

• Moved by Bill_Stewart Wednesday, September 4, 2019 7:19 PM This is not "hand holding for each step from afar" forum
    Tuesday, March 19, 2019 9:21 PM

All replies

• There are numerous examples on that site.  You will have to learn to use OAuth to determine how to do what you need.

Here is a PowerShell discussion of using OAuth with PS.