Verizon FiOs HELP!!!!! RRS feed

• Question

• Ok i've been fooling around with my verizon FiOs for the past 3 months trying to get remote access to work nothing has helped  I have the Actiontec MI424WR router. I know that Verizon wont help me at all becaused I have called them 3 or more times and their responce is that they block port 80 and that the only way around it is to get a business account is there anyone that can help me please???????????

Thanks,

Ever so stressed

Sunday, July 22, 2007 8:41 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Well, if your ISP block port 80, then simply they against web hosting issue, for that they want you to upgrade to business plan.

You on your own, and if you want to still do, then risk for terminated your services will happend.

Either way, that said, and still want that, publish your web server on another port than 80, like 8080 and a like, but anyone will access your web as this:

https://yourservername:8080

As well, you need to setup WHS IIS to listen on the port your forward it in your router.

My best.

Sunday, July 22, 2007 9:06 PM
  •  rbecwar wrote:

Ok i've been fooling around with my verizon FiOs for the past 3 months trying to get remote access to work nothing has helped I have the Actiontec MI424WR router. I know that Verizon wont help me at all becaused I have called them 3 or more times and their responce is that they block port 80 and that the only way around it is to get a business account is there anyone that can help me please???????????

Thanks,

Ever so stressed

The Verizon AUP is quite clear:
    http://www.verizon.net/policies/vzcom/tos_popup.asp (Verizon's Residential (including FIOS) AUP)
    3.7.5 You may not use the Broadband Service to host any type of server whether personal or commercial in nature.

You're not allowed to run servers with residential Verizon accounts, not even on other ports that aren't blocked.
    Sunday, July 22, 2007 9:50 PM
  •  

Poo!