none
Help... My "System" section is getting out of control. RRS feed

• Question

• Six days ago I added a 1TB drive to my HP WHS.  At the same time I turned on folder duplication on a 350GB folder.  I now have a machine that I can almost never log into, a CPU that's pegged at 100%, a system section that's 599GB, a completely full 1 TB drive (the new one), and a warning saying that my folder duplication is failing due to lack of room.

Now.... I'm no expert here, but adding 1TB of storage to any otherwise healthy system and turning duplication on for 350GB really shouldn't cause this.

Thoughts?  I don't want to switch off duplication if this is an intermediate state, but 6 days to copy 350GB seems a bit excessive and even still the "system" section shouldn't be 599GB.

Thanks,
    Steve
    Wednesday, May 20, 2009 4:40 PM

Answers

• This keeps getting odder and odder.

Now I'm back to a 20GB system and I have about 900GB free again.

The machine is still kinda horked and it's been a week since it's been balanced.  Could this all be a temporary state thing while it balances (the drives are all running according to the disk manager)?
    Did you also turn off folder duplication for any shares? The space shown as "system" is usually the reclaimation of space that will eventually be marked "free."

Either way, taking a week to balance is not right. You might want to consider a server reinstall.
    Lara Jones [MSFT] | Program Manager
    Community Support and Beta | Windows Home Server Team
    Windows Home Server Team Blog
    Connect Windows Home Server
    Windows Home Server
    Thursday, May 21, 2009 7:03 PM

All replies