Backup PCs, Backup WHS question RRS feed

• Question

• I want to backup my PC backups (on WHS) to an external drive using the WHS backup.  Is this possible?

My logic is, if my PCs are backed up on my WHS and it fails, then I lose my PC backups also.

Thanks in advance for you help and time.

Jim
    Monday, September 21, 2009 6:49 AM

Answers

• lol !   Not clear to me.  I performed a test last night and that's what happened!  It copied the data from the USB external drive TO the server.

In my world of IT, that's called a "restore".

Thanks for taking the time to check this.

Jim
    • Marked as answer by Jim Merva Tuesday, September 22, 2009 7:38 PM
    Tuesday, September 22, 2009 7:09 PM

All replies

• Hi Jim,
    there is an Add-In, which allows you to copy the backup database to an external drive: WHS BDBB.
    Best greetings from Germany
    Olaf
    Monday, September 21, 2009 7:05 AM
  • Thanks Olaf,

I'm new to WHS so I'm still discoverying the best way the manage the system.  I will check out the WHS BDBB Add-In, thank you.  Before you replied, I was thinking abount creating a batch file that will copy the backups to a Shared Folder each night and then the One Touch Server backup will back up the backed up PC backups also.  What do you think?

Greetings from El Segundo California!

Jim
    Tuesday, September 22, 2009 12:42 AM
  • You could do that, but WHS BDBB can do that for you too :)
    Tuesday, September 22, 2009 4:40 AM
  • Thank you.   I failed to mention I have an Acer easyStore H340 that provides a One Touch USB Backup capability.  I'm waiting for Tech Support to email me back but the more I look into this, it appears the One Touch USB Backup will backup "all" data regaurdless if it resides in a shared folder or not.

When I get the answer from Acer Tech Support I will post it here.

Thanks for your help.

Jim
    Tuesday, September 22, 2009 6:09 AM