• This is my script

param (
        [string]$rebootstatus
    )
    $rebootstatus = Get-WURebootStatus -Silent
    If ($rebootstatus -eq 'True') {
        restart-computer
        }

I am very new to scripting with powershell and don't know a whole lot. I know that I can set the computer to automatically reboot in group policy, but I still want to figure out why this is not working. I have downloaded the Windows Update powershell module and put it in the correct folder so I don't have to import the module each time. I can run the script file just fine when I click on the .ps1 file and run it. It will restart the computer if updates have been installed and it is pending restart. But when running it from task scheduler, it won't work unless a user is logged in. With the task set to "run whether a user is logged in or not" the task will not run. I don't care about different solutions, I am trying to figure out why it is not running. The "why" may be more important down the road than a different solution. Currently I have the task set to run at 4am every day.

It will launch: powershell

also tried: c:\windows\system32\WindowsPowershell\1.0\[pwershell.exe

arguments: c:\script\rebootstatus.ps1

also tried: -file "c:\script\rebootstatus.ps1"

It is being run with a domain admin account. I have tried running the script on my domain controller as well as multiple virtual machines that are just domain members and none of them will run the script with the setting of "run whether a user is logged in or not."

What do I need to do to get this working?

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Friday, July 7, 2017 6:11 PM
    • Moved by Bill_Stewart Friday, July 7, 2017 6:11 PM This is not "teach me how to use task scheduler" forum
    Wednesday, May 10, 2017 8:15 PM

All replies

• Sounds like a question for the task-scheduler people and not a scripting issue.  You have already proven that the script works correctly.