Multiple IIS sites in WHS? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All

I am a web developer and it would be handy iuf I coudl use my WHS box as a server to develop my sites on.

I went about setting a new site up in IIS which worked fine and I caoudl view the page no problem - on the WHS box. When I try to access teh page from a different PC then I jsut get a timeout message.

I can't see anything that suggests you can only run one site in IIS.

Has anyone else got this workign ok?

Thanks

Giles.
    Tuesday, September 18, 2007 12:18 PM

Answers

• Thanks for all the replies Guys.

I've got it working now and it was a stupid mistake (as always).

The problem basically was that I didn't have the port open in windows firewall on the WHS box (as some of you rhad already suggested).
    I did try turning this off when I was initially trying to get this working but it still didn't work. At this point I was testing with a Coldfusion page. WHen I tested with plain html with the firewall off it worked fine on all boxes.

To get Coldfusion working I had to change the annoymous user in IIS. I'm not sure why the default one didn't work but it's all working fine now and I have multiple sites set up.

Thanks again for all the help.
    Friday, September 21, 2007 6:44 AM

All replies

• Hi,

WHS home/remote use the IP's you have in IIS manager.

To have more sites you have some options to manage that:

1 - Have another External IP from your ISP, and redirect that IP to the new site from the IIS manager.
    2 - Have like php script to redirect the new site with index.php
    3 - Place your site in the IIS root folder, and direct link to it, like www.mydomain.com/this_site
    4 - Install (well, I do not like that myself) WAMP or XAMPP and let the apache handle the others sites on another ports.

I hope that help.

My best
    Tuesday, September 18, 2007 6:52 PM
  • Hi Giles
    Just found this as I have been thinking about replacing my l****x server.